group of people, smiling, dinner, Country Director,
Diversity dinner at Country Director's house, Sandra Hamrouni ©

Sandra Hamrouni

Dear Students, Parents, Clients, Colleagues, Friends

First I’d like to wish everyone a Very Happy New Year! I wish you all the very best for 2018 in what I trust will be a prosperous, peaceful and enjoyable year for us all!  The following overview of our activities will give you an idea about developments at British Council Algeria. We will also provide more regular updates on our website, Facebook and Twitter about upcoming events, activities and developments. 

Our Teaching Centre has gone from strength to strength. Our Winter registration has surpassed all expectations and we now have over 1,400 students with a number of people on the waiting list. This number is split approximately 60/40 adults/young learners; 50/50 male / female; and 95% Algerian students with the remaining students coming from e.g. Spain Portugal, Italy, Russia, Egypt, Jordan, Lebanon, Morocco, Tunisia, Syria and Libya. We are proud to have maintained our excellent re-registration rates, still one of the best in MENA British Council teaching centres, and these great results have been achieved by our committed teaching centre staff and our loyal students and/or their parents! In response to requests for extra-curricular activities we recently started a small library for students’ use, and have also introduced a Drama Club for young learners to help students improve their English outside the classroom. The vast majority of our students are especially happy about our teaching methodology, well-trained teachers, and child protection policies. It’s clear we have a very good reputation and seen by most as the best school in Algeria to learn English. A few students feel that we are a little overcrowded, that they would like to spend more time speaking in class, and that we should give loyalty discounts. We commit to listening to all comments and suggestions and continuing to make improvements to our products and services.

British Council Algeria delivers IELTS for people wishing to study or live abroad, for example in UK, USA, Australia or Canada. Numbers have grown significantly this year to around 1,300, and service quality is continually improved through frequent training. We also deliver Aptis, a test created by British Council which is now used across the world by organisations wanting to diagnose the English language competence of their employees or potential employees. In Algeria we have an agreement with the National University to deliver Aptis, as well as several private companies. If you wish to know more about Aptis: https://www.britishcouncil.dz/en/exam/aptis or https://www.britishcouncil.dz/en/exam/aptis/contact-us

As well as teaching English face-to-face, British Council provides a large number of on-line English language learning resources, many of which are free. I’m delighted that Algeria has one of the highest LearnEnglish facebook fans (around 320,000), almost half a million subscribers to the LearnEnglish websites, and 251,000 British Council Algeria facebook fans. British Council’s Obla Air has continued to be broadcast on JilFM over the last year, reaching thousands of radio listeners. Visit http://learnenglish.britishcouncil.org/en to access these free resources.

In May, a representative from Ministry of Culture’s AARC attended Brighton’s music festival, The Great Escape. Also in May we took part in the 18th EU Cultural Festival by bringing Hejira , a ‘folk-prog-jazzers’ band from London. It was the first time that Heijira performed outside UK. Hejira also had a jam session with local musicians Chakib Bouzidi and Rafik Ketanni at Dar Abdelatif. For information:

http://music.britishcouncil.org/news-and-features/2017-06-07/hejira-in-algeria

At the end of July we organised a pioneering Hornby Regional Summer School on the subject of Special Education Needs (SEN). It brought together key stakeholders from Algeria, Tunisia, Morocco, and Libya including top-level ministerial directors, leaders of national teaching and educational associations as well as Civil Society Organizations. Alistair Burt, the UK’s Minister of State, Foreign and Commonwealth Office and Department of International Development visited the course participants with British Ambassador Andrew Noble. 

Phase 2 of the Schools Reform project which the British Council is delivering in partnership with the Ministry of National Education and the UK’s Foreign and Commonwealth Office started in September. The project addresses several of the Ministry’s key priorities, namely pedagogy across all age groups, English language teaching, school governance and leadership, and quality assurance.  During Phase 1 of the project 120 inspectors were trained directly. They then cascade-trained over 30,000 new teachers across all subject areas. Phase 2 and 3 of the project are also heavily focused on improving learner outcomes. Monitoring and evaluation, and coaching and mentoring are key, and this approach is highly appreciated by the minister, participants and other stakeholders. 

In November, we welcomed the well-known British author Lucy Hughes-Hallett who took part in the 9th EU-Maghreb Writers’ Meeting. This year’s theme was the non-fiction novel. Hughes-Hallett is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Literature, and a highly-respected literary critic. While in Algiers, Lucy Hughes-Hallett opened the British Council Reading Corner, a mini library that seeks to introduce young learners to reading.

Also in November an Algerian delegation of 10 participants from different sectors took part in the 6th Hammamet Conference which focused on the leadership challenge of ‘How to Build Peaceful and Inclusive Societies’. The conference was co-chaired by Libyan Peace Activist and gender specialist Zahra’ Langhi and UK Parliamentarian and former Speaker of the Northern Ireland Assembly Lord John Alderdice. For more information see Twitter @HammametConf

Through the Young Arab Voices programme, working in cooperation with higher education institutions, student associations, universities, local NGOs, and civil society organizations; we set up 30 debating clubs. By training young people in public debate and providing a platform for young Algerians from diverse backgrounds to meet and exchange ideas about issues affecting their lives, we trained hundreds of young Algerians, and it was especially rewarding that there was a good gender balance, with 41% of debaters being female. 

I’d also like to highlight in this newsletter the importance of our equality, diversity and inclusion (EDI) policy and activities. As the UK’s principal cultural relations organisation the British Council is strongly committed to equality, diversity and inclusion. This is essential for us to be successful in our work which is centered on building meaningful, enduring and respectful relationships across different cultures. In order to build mutually beneficial relationships externally, we need to behave in line with our organisational values (integrity, professionalism, and valuing people, creativity, and mutuality), and to have robust policies and procedures around EDI. 

Our Equality policy and our Equality, diversity and inclusion strategy set out how we approach the challenges of mainstreaming equality, diversity and inclusion internationally, which means we try to make it a part of everything we do. For more information visit

https://www.britishcouncil.org/organisation/how-we-work/equality-diversity-inclusion

Our aim is to build diversity into all our work. We have developed a variety of tools and initiatives that enable us to do this. Some of these are described below.

•All British Council staff around the world undertake equality, diversity and inclusion training. This consists of e-learning courses, webinars, and face to face sessions. The training raises awareness and develops capability in the area of equality, diversity and inclusion.

•Whenever we introduce/revise policies, or new ways of working we need to consider these changes from different perspectives to ensure we meet the needs of diverse groups of people. This process is called ESIA (Equality Screening and Impact Assessment).

•The Diversity Assessment Framework (DAF) is our overarching diversity measurement tool which is used worldwide. It contains a series of indicators that help measure performance across key areas and helps us assess the progress we are making in embedding (or mainstreaming) diversity into all aspects of our work.

British Council Algeria, along with most of the 17 country offices across our Middle East North Africa region, celebrated Diversity Week (12 – 19 November).  

A highlight of the week in Algiers was an inspiring discussion led by Yazid Ait Hamdouche, radio journalist at Chaine 3, who is passionate about helping to improve the conditions of people with disabilities, and reducing the stigma of people who are HIV positive or living with AIDS. As a paraplegic and wheelchair user since the age of 8 he has overcome a number of challenges to excel in the field of culture and communication.  

At British Council Algeria we also delivered Tolerance-themed lessons, ran lots of quizzes, and showed anti-discrimination videos. One of our teachers ran a workshop on visual impairment, another on British Council values; and we had several staff get-togethers. Some of the more adventurous also wore traditional clothes or adopted another country’s clothes during the week. To see photos of the British Council Algeria team activities please click here. Also, check out this heart-warming video from the BBC where kids were asked “What makes you different from each other?”    What does diversity and mean to you?  https://www.facebook.com/BBCFamilyNews/videos/1319354311433201/

Once again, I wish you all the very best for 2018!

Sandra Hamrouni

Director, British Council Algeria

Diversity, group of people, Algeria, Russia, India
British Council Algeria wearing traditional clothes from Algeria, India, and Russia for Diversity Week.  ©

Sandra Hamrouni

a group, people, diversity, smiling, selfie, inclusion
Radio personality Yazid Ait Hamadouche visited us to talk about disability and inclusion in Algeria.  ©

Sandra Hamrouni

group of people, smiling, dinner, Country Director,
Diversity dinner at Country Director's house, Sandra Hamrouni ©

Sandra Hamrouni

Chers étudiants, Parents, Clients, Collègues, Amis

 Je voudrais tout d’abord commencer par vous souhaiter une très bonne année ! Je vous souhaite le meilleur pour 2018 qui sera, et je suis confiante,  une année prospère, paisible et agréable pour nous tous! L'aperçu suivant sur nos activités vous donnera une idée des développements au British Council Algeria. Nous fournirons également des mises à jour plus régulières sur notre site Web, Facebook et Twitter sur les événements, activités et développements à venir.

 Notre centre d'enseignement ne cesse d’aller de succès en succès. Nos inscriptions d'hiver ont dépassé toutes les attentes et nous avons actuellement plus de 1 400 étudiants et un certain nombre de personnes sur la liste d'attente. Ce nombre est réparti sur environ 60/40 adultes/jeunes apprenants ; 50/50 homme/femme ; et 95% d'étudiants algériens, le reste des étudiants viennent par ex. d’Espagne, Portugal, Italie, Russie, Egypte, Jordanie, Liban, Maroc, Tunisie, Syrie et Libye. Nous sommes fiers d'avoir maintenu un excellent taux de réinscription, toujours un des meilleurs parmi les centres d'enseignement du British Council de la région MENA. Ces excellents résultats ont été obtenus grâce au personnel engagé du centre d'enseignement ainsi que nos fidèles étudiants et/ou leurs parents ! En réponse à des demandes en matière d’activités parascolaires, nous avons récemment créé une petite bibliothèque à l'usage des élèves et avons également créé un club de théâtre pour les jeunes apprenants afin d'aider les élèves à améliorer leur anglais en dehors des salles de classe. La grande majorité de nos étudiants sont particulièrement satisfaits de notre méthodologie d'enseignement, de nos enseignants bien formés et de notre politique de protection de l'enfance. Il est clair que nous jouissons d’une très bonne réputation et nous sommes considérés par la plupart comme la meilleure école en Algérie pour apprendre l'anglais. Quelques étudiants estiment que nous sommes un peu surchargés, qu'ils aimeraient passer plus de temps à parler en classe et que nous devrions offrir des réductions aux plus fidèles. Nous nous engageons à écouter tous les commentaires et suggestions et continuer à apporter des améliorations à nos produits et services.

British Council Algérie offre le test IELTS pour les personnes souhaitant étudier ou vivre à l'étranger, par exemple au Royaume-Uni, aux États-Unis, en Australie ou au Canada. Les chiffres ont considérablement augmenté cette année pour atteindre environ 1 300, et la qualité du service est en constante amélioration grâce à une formation assidue. Nous offrant également Aptis, un test créé par le British Council utilisé actuellement dans le monde entier par les institutions qui souhaitent évaluer les compétences en anglais de leurs employés ou futurs employés. En Algérie, nous avons une convention avec l'Université algérienne pour offrir Aptis, ainsi qu’avec plusieurs entreprises privées. Si vous souhaitez en savoir plus sur Aptis : https://www.britishcouncil.dz/en/exam/aptis ou https://www.britishcouncil.dz/en/exam/aptis/contact-us

En plus d'enseigner l'anglais en configuration présentielle, le British Council offre un grand nombre de ressources d'apprentissage de l'anglais en ligne, dont bon nombre sont gratuites. Je suis ravie que l'Algérie ait l'une des plus grandes pages Facebook de LearnEnglish (environ 320 000), près d'un demi-million d'abonnés aux sites LearnEnglish et 251 000  fans sur la page Facebook du British Council Algeria. Le programme Obla Air du British Council a continué à être diffusé sur Jil FM l'année dernière, atteignant des milliers d'auditeurs de la radio. Visitez http://learnenglish.britishcouncil.org/en pour accéder à ces ressources gratuites.

En mai, un représentant de l'AARC du ministère de la Culture a participé au festival de musique de Brighton, The Great Escape. En mai également, nous avons participé au 18ème Festival culturel de l’Union européenne en invitant en Algérie Hejira, un groupe de « folk-prog-jazzers » originaire de Londres. C'était la première fois que Heijira se produisait en dehors du Royaume-Uni. Hejira a également eu une jam session ou séance d’improvisation avec les musiciens locaux Chakib Bouzidi et Rafik Ketanni à Dar Abdelatif. Pour information :

http://music.britishcouncil.org/news-and-features/2017-06-07/hejira-in-algeria

Vers la fin du mois de juillet, nous avons organisé une université d'été régionale de Hornby pionnière sur le thème des besoins éducatifs spéciaux (SEN). Elle a rassemblé des personnalités clés venant d'Algérie, de Tunisie, du Maroc et de Libye, y compris des directeurs ministériels de haut niveau, des dirigeants d'associations nationales d’enseignement et d'éducation ainsi que des organisations de la société civile. Alistair Burt, ministre d'État du Royaume-Uni, ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commonwealth et département du développement international, a rendu visite aux participants accompagné de l'ambassadeur britannique Andrew Noble.

La phase 2 du projet de réforme de l’école que le British Council met en œuvre en partenariat avec le ministère de l'Éducation nationale et le ministère des Affaires étrangères et du Commonwealth du Royaume-Uni a débuté en septembre. Le projet répond à plusieurs priorités du ministère, à savoir la pédagogie dans tous les groupes d'âge, l'enseignement de l'anglais, la gouvernance et le leadership des écoles et l'assurance de la qualité. Au cours de la phase 1 du projet, 120 inspecteurs ont été formés directement. Ils ont ensuite procédé à leur tour à la démultiplication en formant plus de 30 000 nouveaux enseignants dans tous les domaines. Les phases 2 et 3 du projet sont également fortement axées sur l'amélioration des résultats des apprenants. Le suivi et l'évaluation, le coaching et le mentorat sont des éléments cruciaux, et cette approche est très appréciée par le ministre, les participants et les autres parties prenantes.

En novembre, nous avons accueilli la célèbre auteure britannique Lucy Hughes-Hallett qui a participé aux 9emes rencontres euro-maghrébines des écrivains. Le thème de cette année était le Roman non fictionnel. Hughes-Hallett est membre de la Royal Society of Literature et critique littéraire très respectée. Pendant son séjour à Alger, Lucy Hughes-Hallett a inauguré le British Council Reading Corner, une mini-bibliothèque qui vise à initier les jeunes apprenants à la lecture.

Toujours en novembre, une délégation algérienne de 10 participants de différents secteurs a pris part à la 6ème Conférence de Hammamet qui a mis l’accent sur le défi de leadership intitulé « Comment construire des sociétés pacifiques et inclusives ». La conférence était coprésidée par Zahra Langhi, militante libyenne pour la paix et spécialiste des questions de genre, ainsi que par le parlementaire britannique et ancien président de l'Assemblée d'Irlande du Nord, Lord John Alderdice. Pour plus d'informations, consultez Twitter @HammametConf

Par le biais du programme Young Arab Voices, travaillant en coopération avec des établissements d'enseignement supérieur, des associations d'étudiants, des universités, des ONG locales et des organisations de la société civile ; nous avons mis en place 30 clubs de débat. En formant des jeunes au débat public et en offrant une plate-forme aux jeunes algériens de divers horizons pour qu'ils se rencontrent et échangent des idées sur des problèmes affectant leur vie, nous avons formé des centaines de jeunes algériens, et cela a été particulièrement gratifiant de constater qu’il y avait un bon équilibre entre les deux sexes, avec 41% des intervenants étant des femmes.

Je voudrais également souligner ici l'importance de notre politique et nos activités d'égalité, de diversité et d'inclusion (EDI). En tant que principal organisme de relations culturelles du Royaume-Uni, le British Council est engagé avec vigueur en faveur de l'égalité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion. Ceci est essentiel pour la réussite de notre travail axé sur l’établissement de relations significatives, durables et respectueuses à travers les différentes cultures. Afin de construire des relations mutuellement bénéfiques à l'extérieur, notre action doit être conforme à nos valeurs organisationnelles (intégrité, professionnalisme et valorisation des personnes, créativité et mutualité), et avoir des politiques et des procédures solides en matière de l'EDI.

Notre politique d'égalité et notre stratégie d'égalité, de diversité et d'inclusion définissent comment nous abordons les défis de l'intégration de l'égalité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion au niveau international, ce qui signifie que nous essayons de l'intégrer dans tout ce que nous faisons. Pour plus d'informations, visitez

https://www.britishcouncil.org/organisation/how-we-work/equality-diversity-inclusion

Notre objectif est de consolider la diversité dans tout notre travail. Nous avons développé un éventail d'outils et d'initiatives, dont certains sont détaillés ci-dessous, qui nous permettent d’atteindre cet objectif.

• Tous les membres du personnel du British Council dans le monde suivent une formation sur l'égalité, la diversité et l'inclusion. Il s'agit de cours en ligne, des webinaires et des sessions en présentiel. La formation sensibilise et développe des capacités dans le domaine de l'égalité, de la diversité et de l'inclusion.

• Chaque fois que nous introduisons/révisons des politiques, ou de nouvelles façons de travailler, nous devons étudier ces changements sous différents angles pour s’assurer que nous répondons aux besoins de divers groupes de personnes. Ce processus s'appelle ESIA (suivi de l'égalité et évaluation d'impact).

• Le Cadre d'évaluation de la diversité (DAF) est notre outil exhaustif de mesure de la diversité utilisé à travers le monde. Il contient une série d'indicateurs qui aident à mesurer la performance dans des domaines clés et nous aide à évaluer les progrès que nous réalisons en intégrant la diversité dans tous les aspects de notre travail.

Le British Council Algérie, ainsi que la plupart des 17 bureaux des pays de la région Moyen-Orient et Afrique du Nord, ont célébré la Semaine de la Diversité (du 12 au 19 novembre).

L’un des moments fort de la semaine à Alger fut un débat passionnant animée par Yazid Ait Hamdouche, journaliste à la radio Chaine 3, qui milite pour améliorer les conditions des personnes handicapées et réduire la stigmatisation des personnes séropositives ou vivant avec le SIDA. En tant que personne paraplégique et en fauteuil roulant depuis l'âge de 8 ans, il a dû relever de nombreux défis pour exceller dans le domaine de la culture et de la communication.

Au British Council Algérie, nous avons également dispensé des leçons sur le thème de la tolérance, organisé de nombreux quiz et diffusé des vidéos anti-discrimination. Un de nos professeurs a animé un atelier sur la déficience visuelle, un autre sur les valeurs du British Council ; et nous avons eu plusieurs réunions du personnel. L’un des plus audacieux a porté des vêtements traditionnels ou adopté les vêtements d'un autre pays pendant la semaine. Pour voir les photos des activités de l'équipe du British Council Algérie, veuillez cliquer ici. Découvrez également cette vidéo émouvante de la BBC où l'on demandait aux enfants "Qu'est-ce qui vous rend différents les uns des autres ?" Qu'est-ce que la diversité et que signifie-t-elle pour vous ? https://www.facebook.com/BBCFamilyNews/videos/1319354311433201/

Sandra Hamrouni

Director, British Council Algeria

Diversity, group of people, Algeria, Russia, India
British Council Algeria wearing traditional clothes from Algeria, India, and Russia for Diversity Week.  ©

Sandra Hamrouni

a group, people, diversity, smiling, selfie, inclusion
Radio specialist Yazid Ait Hamadouche visited British Council Algeria to talk about inclusion in Algeria. ©

Sandra Hamrouni